How to set your iPhone to erase all data after 10 failed password attempts

* This post is part of the iPhone Life Tip of the Day newsletter. Hire. *

Apple has done a great job of making our iPhones secure. If you have data or images on your iPhone that you don’t want anyone without the code to ever see, you can set your iPhone to erase all data after 10 unsuccessful password attempts (this will not delete the data in iCloud). This is not a setting that you should activate lightly because if someone doesn’t open their phone after those 10 tries, everything on the phone will disappear and you will have to start from scratch. However, as a security measure, it is a great way to make sure your data is safe.

  IHome clock radio works as a dual charging dock for iPhone and Apple Watch

To set your iPhone to erase all data after 10 failed password attempts, open the Settings app. Scroll down and tap Touch ID & Passcode. Enter your password to continue.

How to set your iPhone to erase all data after 10 failed password attempts

Scroll to the bottom of the page and you will see Clear data. Below this it says, “Erase all data on this iPhone after 10 unsuccessful password attempts.” Check Clear data to enable this feature. It will ask you to confirm, tap Activate.

How to set your iPhone to erase all data after 10 failed password attemptsHow to set your iPhone to erase all data after 10 failed password attempts