1. Home
  2. >>
  3. snapchat
  4. >>
  5. Steps to delete Snapchat account

Steps to delete Snapchat account



Steps to delete Snapchat account


Want to start fresh with a new Snapchat account? Or maybe you’ve found yourself sharing more content on Instagram and TikTok over the years? Whatever the reason, we have put together this guide to teach you how to delete Snapchat.

To delete your account, you must first deactivate it. If you change your mind during this time, you can easily reactivate it by logging back in. After 30 days, your deactivated account will be permanently deleted, which means your snaps, chats, stories, friends, settings, and data will be permanently lost.

For this reason, you probably want to download your data before deleting your account. Once you’ve got all your chats and memories back, follow the steps below to permanently delete your Snapchat account on iOS, or scroll to the end of this guide to delete it via Android or a web browser.

Table of Contents:

What you will need:

the short version

  • Open Snapchat
  • Go to your profile
  • Tap the Settings icon
  • Tap Delete account
  • Sign in to your account on the web
  • Enter your login details once more and press Continue
  • How to delete a Snapchat account

  • To walk
    1

    Open the Snapchat app

    These steps apply to the iOS app. For instructions for Android or the web browser, scroll down to the FAQ section of this guide.

  • To walk
    two

    Tap your Bitmoji

    This will take you to your Snapchat profile. If you don’t have Bitmoji, just tap the icon here.

  • To walk
    3

    Tap the gear icon

    This will take you to your account settings.

  • To walk
    4

    Tap Delete account

    You may have to scroll a bit to find this option.

  • To walk
    5

    Enter your login details and tap Login

    You can use your username or email address to log in at this point.

  • To walk
    6

    Enter your details again and tap Continue to deactivate your Snapchat account

    After 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted.

  • frequent questions

    How to delete Snapchat on an Android device or browser

    If you want to delete your account on an Android phone or web browser, go directly to the Snapchat account portal.

    Then simply log in with your username and password, re-enter your login details to confirm, and click Continue to delete your account.

    How to reactivate a Snapchat account

    If you change your mind within 30 days of opting out, simply log back into the Snapchat app with your username and password.

    Remember that you can no longer use your email address to log in and after 30 days your account will be permanently deleted.

    Share this: