Apple needs to reconsider the 15-minute window to edit or cancel a message in iOS 16

Source: Christine Romero-Chan / ComoHow

Apple Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) 2022 is over. With it, we saw the next major software updates on all Apple devices: iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, and Mac. We even got hardware announcements with the new MacBook Air M2 and MacBook Pro M2 13-inch, though it’s a mystery why. that the latter still exists, honestly.

One of the main novelties of iOS 16 is the fact that we can now modify and cancel the sending of messages. Oh, and we can also mark entire conversations as unread, you know, to remind ourselves to reply when we have time. However, it appears that Apple gave the edit and undo feature an overly generous time frame of 15 minutes after submission to make a change. Honestly, I think it’s too long.

Apple occasionally releases updates to iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS, and macOS as closed developer previews or public betas. Although beta versions contain new features, they also contain pre-release bugs that may prevent normal use of your iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple TV, or Mac, and are not designed for everyday use on a mainstream device. This is why we strongly advise you to stay away from developer previews unless you need them for software development, and use public betas with caution. If you depend on your devices, wait for the final version.

Table of Contents:

  • Apple Ironically Beat Twitter to the End
  • Changes Needed to Edit and Undo Messages Feature in iOS 16
  • All of this is subject to change.
    • iOS 16 lock screen to help establish “a healthy relationship” with your iPhone

Apple Ironically Beat Twitter to the End

One of the biggest feature requests from users (myself included) on Twitter has been an edit button. I often want an edit button because I usually see some silly typo I made in a tweet after I’ve sent it, and end up having to delete it and tweet again. But, of course, we are in the age of the Internet, where many people see such a tweet and can catch it if they are fast enough. The Internet remembers everything, even if you delete (or modify) it.

The problem with editing a tweet would be that someone who said something particularly offensive could later edit it with something completely different than what was originally said. But again, on Twitter, there can be tens, hundreds, or even thousands of eyes on a particular tweet, and chances are someone could take a screenshot before it’s left unchanged.

In Messages, however, it’s very different. You usually only message one person (unless you’re just group texting all day). If a message is sent to someone and the original message ends up changing to something completely different, then there will be no proof of what the original message said. If there is animosity between the two people, the first message could have been very damning, but if it is edited, the recipient will not be able to know what he said before the edit. The same can be said if the message was not sent. Of course, that probably won’t be a problem if the recipient is already on their favorite iPhone and checks the messages right away. However, if they can’t access it right away, the sender has an incredibly large window to make changes.

Changes Needed to Edit and Undo Messages Feature in iOS 16

Realistically, 15 minutes is a long time when it comes to communication, and messages can be completely twisted and rewritten during that time.

For now, with the first beta version, edited messages will show “Edited” below the message, like the “Delivered” or “Read” indicator. However, there is no way to read what the original message says unless the recipient has an older version of iOS, as the editing feature is not supported. If a message “wasn’t sent”, those on iOS 16 will see a message that a message has been cancelled. Again, if the recipient is using iOS 15 or earlier, the message will still be there.

While this is a function I’ll probably use often to fix all my stupid typos from typing too fast, there needs to be some changes.

For one thing, the 15-minute window really should shrink, it’s an awfully long time. I think a maximum of five minutes should be enough. That’s enough time to catch typos or add details you forgot.

I also think the original post should still be viewable somehow. Can you imagine if there were messages between two people that ended up in a court battle? There would be no trace of the original unless the person remembered to take a screenshot, although this could also be digitally altered.

All of this is subject to change.

We’re still in the early stages of beta builds, but it’s a change I hope Apple seriously reconsiders. Or just give us the option to change the edit/cancel submission deadline to something less. I’m sure some people would be fine with 15 minutes, but I’d definitely prefer less. After all, I usually know within the first few seconds of sending a message if I need to edit it.

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.

healthy apple

iOS 16 lock screen to help establish “a healthy relationship” with your iPhone

One of the standout features of the upcoming iOS 16 update is the ability to place widgets on the lock screen, while Live Activities will highlight more visible information without the need to unlock the iPhone. All of this, says Craig Federighi, vice president of Appel, is aimed at helping people “have a healthy relationship” with their iPhones.

Share this:

  • Click to share on Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Click to share on Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  • Plus
  • Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in a new window)
  • Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in a new window)